Through my recent studies, I have listened to a lot different, preachers, researchers, evangelists, etc. Some of these men and women have said they have felt the call of God on their life to be Watchmen. Usually this calling is in regards to warning the people of God (mainly, but also anyone else who will listen) about things that God is showing them and what is to shortly come to pass, some of which would blow your mind.  I did some light study on what they meant by being a “Watchman”, but didn’t give it too much thought as I felt the it didn’t apply to my life.

Well, I was wrong.

Not only does the term Watchman apply to my life, but it also applies to every other person that claims to be a follower of Jesus. This last week I was listening to a gentleman who goes by Gonz, and his word of encouragement was from Ezekiel 33.  After he got done with his video, I felt God pressing me to look more into it and read it myself, which I did. What I read, and the implications of it but such a conviction on my heart that I realize should have been there since the day I submitted my life to Jesus.

Ezekiel 33:1-6

And the word of the LORD came to me, saying, “Son of man, speak to the sons of your people and say to them, ‘If I bring a sword upon a land, and the people of the land take one man from among them and make him their watchman, and he sees the sword coming upon the land and blows on the trumpet and warns the people, then he who hears the sound of the trumpet and does not take warning, and a sword comes and takes him away, his blood will be on his own head. He heard the sound of the trumpet but did not take warning; his blood will be on himself. But had he taken warning, he would have delivered his life. But if the watchman sees the sword coming and does not blow the trumpet and the people are not warned, and a sword comes and takes a person from them, he is taken away in his iniquity; but his blood I will require from the watchman’s hand.’

In summary, what God showed me is that all of us who are saved and are professing Christians are Watchmen. How do I figure this? Well, once you are saved you realize what you are saved from, eternal judgement and damnation from God. We are aware, that God will bringing a sword upon this land (Revelation 19:15) and if we don’t warn the inhabitants (meaning EVERYONE, like Jesus commanded us to before he left Matthew 28:19) then their blood will be on our hands and God will require an answer from us as to why we ignored his command to warn of the imminent danger.

God may upgrade my understanding of this later, but for now, this is what I see!

Jeff

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.